Spinach, how I love thee

Spinach is becoming my favorite vegetable, sorry broccoli. Spinach is usually super cheap and it has a ton of health benefits. Here are a few

  • high levels of bone-strengthening calcium
  • vitamin A and C, folic acid, and magnesium which are known to fight and prevent cancer (especially colon, lung, and breast cancer)
  • folate that lowers homocysteine in the blood, effectively protecting against heart disease
  • flavonoids that protect against age-related memory loss
  • lutein, which helps prevent cataracts and age-related macular degeneration
  • the antioxidant beta-carotene, which fights cataracts, heart disease, and cancer
  • I didn’t get that info from the top of my head, I read about it here

    Besides learning about the health benefits of this veggie, I’m also discovering just how versatile this green leaf can be. Besides green monsters , I came across this way to use my favorite leaf.

    goood breakie

    I had this delicious and healthy breakfast the other day. It was a whole wheat tortilla from traders joe’s  that I spread with hummus, one scrambled egg, a tablespoon or so of shredded cheese and a handful of fresh spinach leaves.  It was yummy and really filling. I also had a kiwi on the side. I haven’t had one of those in ages. Here are some other ways you can use this super food

    1. Use spinach instead of regular lettuce in salads

    2. Use spinach instead of lettuce on sandwiches

    3.  Use as a pizza topping, finely chopped if you have kiddos

    4. Process thawed frozen spinach in the food processor and add to spaghetti sauce

    So, tell me, what’s your favorite way to use Spinach?

    2 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    2 responses to “Spinach, how I love thee

    1. I agree! Spinach is becoming my favorite veggie too. Of course I love it in green smoothies but probably my favorite way to eat it is instead of lettuce on sandwiches. I like to eat a veggie burger on whole wheat bread with cheese, spinach and organic ketchup 🙂

      Great post!

    2. mommyinmotion

      I have a lot of texture issues with food and, for the longest time I hated spinach because of it. I still don’t like it on it’s own, but I *love* it in an omlet!

    Leave a Reply

    