Apple crazy

I have a confession to make: I had never eaten a Larabar until yesterday. I know, it’s shocking, shameful. Well, when I found out that Amazon.com was having a great deal on them, I took advantage. The bars are usually $27 for a box of 16, on Larabar’s website. On Amazon they’re about $22/box, and they were having a deal: buy 2 boxes and get $10 off plus free shipping. I love a good deal. Anyway, my package arrived yesterday:

DSC00665

I chose the apple pie and cherry pie flavors. They seemed to have the best reviews on amazon.

I promptly ate an apple pie one:

DSC00667It was very good. I love how it was sweet, without being cloyingly so. I also loved the simple ingredient list: dates, almonds, unsweetened apples, walnuts, raisins and cinnamon. That’s it. No added sugar or hexametaphos….whatevers. I thinkI may order again soon. They have a skazillion flavors to try out.

Anyway, I enjoyed my apple pie larabar so much, that I decided to make a bowl of oatmeal inspired by it this morning. I microwaved .5 a chopped apple, with some cinnamon, a spoon of good ole fashioned brown sugar, a few walnuts and raisins and .5 cup of oats.  Here’s how it looked:

DSC00669It was good. You know, everytime I use brown sugar, Istart singing tha really old song by D’Angelo. You remember the one? “Want sum a yo brown sugaaaa…ahhh, ahhh.”

Anyway, it was very good and reminded me of a fall day.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Apple crazy

  1. mommyinmotion

    I’ve never even heard of Larabar, but you made them sound so good I might have to go look them up! Your “apple pie” oatmeal sounds delicious! If I can ever find the box that my kettle got put in, I am going to try it out!

Leave a Reply

