Feeling good!

Rain on Flower

Alhumdullilah, I feel great today.

Last night it rained, and today the weather feels nice and cool, like 67 degrees. Some people don’t like the rain, but I love it. I love the feeling of the cool rain on my face. I love the way the earth smells after the rain has kissed it. I love the way the rain makes the world stop and take notice.  Let’s not forget that the rain provides us with water to drink and cleanse ourselves.

Do you ever wake up just feeling so grateful to the creator for being alive, and all of the blessings-no matter how small-that Allah has blessed you with? That’s how I feel today. One of the diseases of the  heart is not realizing the small blessings that Allah has given us. The solution is to look at those people who have less than you do. I often reflect on how grateful I am to have simple things like clean water. So many in the world do not even have that.

The scale was kind to me today. I’m down 1 pound. You know, one pound might not seem like a lot, but if you were to lose a pound a week, in a year you would have lost 54 pounds. Ask me how I know? In May of 2008, I weighed about 52 pounds more than I do now. How did I do it? With small steps, one pound at a time. 1 pound represents, 2 cups of water, 16 ounces. That may not seem like much, but if you add up the drops eventually you will have gallons.

Well, off to get the kids bathed and ready for Jummah.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

